Quick Jump:

Announcements
Latest Topics

reliable pci card
By: WaseemCh
Topics: 0
Added: 11/20/2010 - 08:27 PM

hello, im new to abelcam.

i currently have an ez watch pro 4 bnc camera setup. im thinking of switching over to abelcam because it is more open to configure and access.

what would be a cheap reliable 4 bnc pci card that i could use?

thank you
seesoe
By: MelvinG
Topics: 661
Added: 11/20/2010 - 11:59 PM

I'm afraid I do not have a good answer for you. The trouble with all the cheap 4-BNC cards I've ever seen is this: there is only one encoder chip on the card (not 4 chips) for 4 camera inputs. This means the card appears to Windows as 1 camera instead of 4, which then means the application software has to make the card "multiplex" 4 video signals and sort out what comes in. AbelCam isn't designed to do that.

The solution is to get a 4-BNC card with 4 encoder chips - it will appear as 4 camera to Windows. However, such cards are definitely not cheap. The last time I went looking for such a card they were rather hard to find and the price was about US$300.
By: WaseemCh
Topics: 0
Added: 11/21/2010 - 09:09 AM

thank you for your response, definitely helped.

that is exactly what abel does when i try and set the ezwatchpro card as a camera, the output to abel just cycles through the cameras every second.

could there be another way? maybe 4 usb devices?
By: MelvinG
Topics: 661
Added: 11/21/2010 - 10:32 AM

From WaseemCh:
could there be another way? maybe 4 usb devices?

Not quite sure what you mean...

If you had 4 analog to USB video devices, AbelCam would see that as 4 distinctly separate cams. For that matter if you had 4 single-input PCI cards AbelCam would see them as 4 cams.